Don’t appoint defeated politicians to gov’t positions, PNoy urged

  • Print
  • Email:

Published : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 00:00

Article Views : 91

THE House independent minority bloc cautioned yesterday President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III from appointing defeated politicians to government positions as this could be misconstrued as payback time and could affect the vital functions of various agencies in providing service to the people.

This was stressed by Leyte (1st District) Rep. Ferdinand Martin “FM” G.  Romualdez, the head of the bloc, following reports that former Cavite Gov. Erineo “Ayong” Maliksi, a member of the ruling Liberal Party (LP) who lost in the 2013 gubernatorial race,  will be appointed by the President as chairman of the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO).

“We acknowledge the fact that the President has the power and authority to appoint his trusted allies to any position he wants.  We just hope that this should not be a ‘pay-back time’ which may affect the integrity and mandate of the agency,” said Romualdez.

While recognizing that appointments are the President’s choice, Romualdez said the Aquino government should be able to expand its pool of selection, and not only those defeated candidates of the administration party.             “Otherwise, the government would be accused of ‘favoritism,’” he added.

“The bloc is only concerned that the agency, which is the last savior of our poor constituents seeking medical assistance and related social needs, would be tainted with so much politics that ‘favoritism’ would be at the forefront of qualifications for grants,” Romualdez said.

With the 2016 elections just two years away, Romualdez said the risks of the position being politicized will be high.


No Comments Permalink

Say something

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with a grey bar.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>